- Your Government
- Municipal Court
- Juveniles and Minors
Juveniles and Minors
Juveniles are defined as persons 16 years of age or younger. Minors charged with alcohol offenses are defined as persons under 21 years of age. With tobacco related offenses a juvenile/minor person is 17 years of age and younger.
A Court Appearance is Required
Texas State Law requires an appearance in open court before the Judge. Juvenile/Minor defendants must come to court and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.(you cannot opt to mail the fine for a juvenile...a court appearance is required by law).
Available Seating During Proceedings
All hearings are restricted due to court seating capacity. Therefore, only juvenile offenders and their parent(s) or legal guardian will be allowed in the courtroom during juvenile proceedings, unless there is additional seating available. Although younger siblings will be permitted, the court reserves the right to remove any child who is a disruption to the court hearing. We strongly suggest you make provisions to leave younger siblings at home.
Failure to Appear
If a minor fails to appear at his or her scheduled hearing, a failure to appear charge may be added to the original charge. A warrant for their arrest may be issued immediately.
If a juvenile fails to appear at his or her scheduled hearing, a failure to appear charge may be added to the original charge.
Failure of the parent or legal guardian to appear with the juvenile is a separate misdemeanor offense against the parent or legal guardian, and an arrest warrant may be issued for their failure to appear.
If you have any questions please contact the Municipal Court of Record: 817-645-0925.
**Note- all juvenile/minor persons who have pending litigation in the Cleburne Municipal Court of Record are pursuant to adhear to the continuing obligation law C.C.P. Art. 45.057(j) under the Texas Traffic and Criminal laws.