RESOLVING YOUR TICKET


Entering a Plea

In misdemeanor cases, the defendant is asked to enter a plea of guilty, not guilty, or no contest. 

Guilty

When you plea guilty, you admit that you committed the act charged and that the act is prohibited by law.  Before entering your plea of guilty, you should understand that a plea of guilty may be used against you should a civil suit arise.  For example, if there was a traffic accident, another party can say you were at fault or responsible for the accident because you pled guilty to the charge.

Nolo Contendere (No Contest)

When you plea no contest, you do not admit guilt and you do not contest the charge against you.  A plea of nolo contendere (no contest) cannot be used against you in a subsequent civil suit for damages.

Not Guilty

When you plea not guilty, you are informing the Court that deny guilt or that you have a defense in your case.  The State must prove what it has charged against you.  
   
    

Driving Safety Course 


Taking a Driver Safety Course (DSC) is an option that will keep your citation from being reported as a conviction on your driving and will be dismissed if all terms required are successfully met.  If you are charged with a traffic offense under Subtitle C, Title 7, Transportation Code, you may request this option on or before the appearance date on your citation in person or by certified mail.  At the time of request, you will be required to do the following:
 
  • Present a valid Texas driver's license and current proof of liability insurance in your name
  • Enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere
  • Pay the state-mandated fees to the court

If eligible, and the above has been received, you will be required to submit the driving safety course certificate along with a certified copy of our driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety within 90 days.  If requesting this option by certified mail, you must return the signed affidavit that will be mailed to you along with the date you are required to submit the proof. 

Eligibility

If you are eligible and meet all requirements, you will be granted 90 days to complete the course and return the required certificate of completion and certified driving record to the court.  You are eligible to request this option if you:

    Do not hold a commercial drivers license;

    Have not taken a driving safety course for a traffic offense within the 12 months prior to the offense date;

    Are not currently taking the course for another traffic offense; and the offense was not one of the following:

  • Speeding 25 mph or more over the limit
  • Failure to give information at accident scene
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude police officer
  • Reckless driving
  • Passing a school bus
  • Serious traffic violation as defined by the Texas Transportation Code 


Deferred Disposition/Probation


Deferred disposition is an option that will keep your citation from being reported as a conviction on your driving record and will be dismissed at the end of the deferral period if all terms required are successfully met.  You may request this option on or before the appearance date on the citation in person, by mail, or online.  At the time of request, you must present the following:
  • Present a valid Texas driver's license and current proof of liability insurance in your name
  • Enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere

Because the cost and fees will vary according to the offense cited, you will need to contact the Court to determine the exact amount owed for your deferment.  You may also request up to 30 days to pay.  To determine the total due, please contact the Cleburne Municipal Court of Record at (817) 645-0925.  

  

Eligibility

If you are granted deferred disposition, you will be placed on probation for a period not to exceed 180 days and must not have any additional citations in the City of Cleburne.  Please note, other conditions may also be imposed to qualify for deferred disposition.  If you are under 25 years of age, you must also take a driver's safety course and submit proof of completion to the court before the due date if you have been charged with a traffic violation.  In addition, if you hold a provisional driver license, you must be examined by the Department of Public Safety.  The cost of the examination is $10.  Please note, not all violations qualify for deferred disposition.  You are eligible to request this option if you:

    Do not hold a commercial drivers license;
    
    You have not currently on deferred disposition in the City of Cleburne;

    You are not eligible if:
  • Violation occurred in a construction or maintenance zone when workers are present;
  • Speeding 25mph+ over the speed limit or 15mph+ in a school zone;
  • Active arrest warrant;
  • 16 years of age or younger; Juveniles must appear in court before the Judge.
  • Minor charged with an alcohol or tobacco violation;  The minor must appear in court before the Judge.

    Please note: A request may be made for deferred disposition on the following violations but it may require an appearance in     court.  Please contact the Cleburne Municipal Court for more information.

  • Penal Code violations (DUI, Public Intoxication, Possession of Drug Paraphernalia, Disorderly Conduct, Assault, Open Container, Theft);  
  • DWLI 2nd or more/No DL 2nd or more; A request may be made for this option but it may require an appearance in court.
  • Vicious/Dangerous Dog;
  • The violation involves a victim or personal complaint.

Extension to Pay


You may request up to 30 days to pay your citation by mail, online, or in person.  This option will result in a conviction on your record.  Note: A $25 time payment fee shall be added if payment is made on or after 31 days from the time of request. 

Payment Plan

This option is available if you are not opting for the above options and will result in a conviction on your record.  Because the cost and fees will vary according to the offense cited and the facts and circumstances of your case, you will need to contact the Court.  You will need to fill out a Financial Application to determine a payment plan based on your finances and sign an agreement.  For more information, please contact the Court.  
 

Alternative Means/Financial Hardship

If you are financially unable to pay a fine and/or court cost, there are other options, such as a reduction in fine and court costs or community service.  At the Judge's discretion, a person can perform community service instead of paying fine and court cost, attend work and job skills training, attend a preparatory class for high school equivalency exam, or service at an education institution.  In certain situations in which a person cannot perform community service and that person is financially unable (indigent) to pay their citation, the Court will hear sworn testimony and look at evidence concerning you financial situation to help you resolve your citation.  In certain severe situations, the Judge can reduce your citation or eliminate them completely, depending on the severity of your situation. 

**Submitting false information to the Court constitutes the crime of tampering with a government record, punishable by incarceration and/or imposition of a fine.**

Should you have any questions regarding these options, please contact the Cleburne Municipal Court of Record at (817) 645-0925.