2016 Awards

At the Cleburne City Council meeting on January 10, 2017, Chief Rob Severance presented several awards to CPD employees.

Officer of the Year 2016

Officer of the Year 2016

Cpl. Dennis Ney

was awarded “Officer of the Year 2016”. Cpl. Ney is currently assigned as a detective in the Criminal Investigations Unit and is assigned all forgery and fraud cases. Due to his knowledge and dedication, he cleared many cases and issued numerous warrants in 2016. One case resulted in the clearance of several cases for the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office. Cpl. Ney has been with the Cleburne Police Department for over 20 years and holds his Master Peace Officer certification.

Civilian of the Year 2016

Civilian of the Year 2016

Kristi Green

received “Civilian of the Year 2016”. Kristi currently serves as the criminal investigations secretary and has been with the Cleburne Police Department over 19 years. She assists with filing cases with the County and District Attorney’s Office, as well as Juvenile Services. Kristi works closely with other agencies. In 2016, Kristi took on additional duties to assist with a personnel shortage in our Records Division. She is always willing to assist and is an asset to the Cleburne Police Department.

Humanitarian Award

Humanitarian Award

Detective Corey Hall

was presented the “Humanitarian Award”. This award is given to a member who distinguishes himself by his humanitarian acts or efforts either on or off duty. Detective Hall signed up as a bone marrow donor. He was notified that he was a match for a small child. Detective Hall did not hesitate in answering this call and donating his bone marrow. In the fall of 2016, Corey was able to meet his bone marrow recipient, Charlie Osborn. Charlie is on his way to good health and is progressing positively because of Detective Hall’s selfless act.

Distinguished Command Award and 30 Years of Service Award

Distinguished Command

Assistant Chief Danny Rogers

received the “Distinguished Command Award” and “30 Years of Service Award”. Chief Severance said, “Assistant Chief Rogers is the first officer with the Cleburne Police Department to receive the Distinguished Command Award—one of our most prestigious awards.” This is awarded to a command rank officer who has served with distinction over an extended period of time.

Assistant Chief Rogers has been with the Cleburne Police Department since 1987. He was instrumental in several initiatives including: The Chisholm Trail Intelligence Group, Cleburne Police and Clergy Coalition; and he played a key role in Cleburne PD become the 126th recognized law enforcement agency through the Texas Police Chiefs Best Practices Recognition Program. Since joining Cleburne PD, Assistant Chief Rogers has been a patrol officer, task force officer, the SWAT commander, an investigator, and a supervisor. He is also a member of the Cold Case Review Team. Assistant Rogers first promotion was in 1995. He became a Deputy Chief (later renamed to Assistant Chief) in 2011 where he managed the Support Division and also the Operations Division.

In February, Assistant Chief Rogers will retire from Cleburne PD to serve in Johnson County Sheriff Adam King’s administration. Chief Severance said, “I couldn’t ask for a better right hand man than Assistant Chief Rogers. He is the epitome of Community Policing and has done so much for Cleburne over the past 30 years. It has been an honor to serve with him.”